Vice President Yemi Osinbajo on Thursday, inaugurated the National Addressing System (NAS) Council.

Performing the ceremony at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, he assured that a national addressing system would improve the digital economy and other sectors.

The Council is mandated to “make guidelines and provide strategic direction for the National Addressing System” and to “ensure that the Policy is revised as at when due, to align with the new technologies, Policy objectives and socio-economic realities.”

The NAS Council comprises 18 members, with the Vice President as the Chairman.

Other members of the Council are: Ministers of Communications, Works, Power, and Housing; Finance, National Planning, Interior, Minister of Justice/Attorney-General of the Federation, Minister, Federal Capital Territory, Abuja and the National Security Adviser.

Representatives of the Governors of the six Geo-political Zones include Governor Okezie Ikpeazu  of Abia State (South-East); Governor Mohammed Abubakar of Bauchi State (North-East); Governor Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna State (North-West); Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State (North-Central); Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State (South-West); Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State (South-South).

Chairman of ALGON, two members from the Organized Private Sector; and the Postmaster-General/CEO of NIPOST are also members.

Post a Comment

Trending News